Topic Category: Other important info

Registering for voting and organ donation

Applying for voter registration

You may apply to register to vote or to change your voter registration mailing address at any DMV office. Indicate your intentions on the voter registration section of the driver’s license application. To apply to register to vote in Virginia, you must be a U.S. citizen, a resident of Virginia, and be at least 18 years old by the next general election. You must have had your voting rights restored by a circuit court if you have been convicted of a felony or if you have been declared mentally incompetent.

To check your voter registration status , contact your local registrar or the State Board of Elections at 1-800-552-9745 or TDD 1-800-260-3466.

Registering to be an organ donor

If you wish to become an organ/tissue donor, you must be at least 18 years of age. If you are under age 18, you must obtain your parent’s or legal guardian’s written consent.

When you apply for your license or photo ID card, you will be asked if you wish to become an organ, eye and tissue donor. If you decide to become a donor, your choice will be noted on the front of your driver’s license or ID card. The decision to become an organ, eye and tissue donor is yours. Your decision will not affect your driving privileges.

Additional Requirements

Whether you are learning to drive for the first time, new to Virginia or brushing up on your safe driving knowledge, there are additional requirements that all Virginia drivers should know.

  • You will receive your new driver’s license in the mail. For security, DMV does not issue licenses in customer service centers.
    • If you move, you are required to notify DMV within 30 days .The postal service will not forward your license to another address. If DMV does not have your correct address, the postal service will return the license to DMV.
  • You must have the vehicle regitration card with you when operating the vehicle. You must also register your vehicle in your locality, if required. Check with your city or county government.
  • License plates must be displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle. Decals indicating the month and year that the registration expires must be placed in the designated areas on the plates (except for vehicles displaying permanent plates).
  • If you are a new Virginia resident and drive, you must obtain a Virginia driver’s license within 60 days of moving here.
    • Title and register your vehicle and obtain Virginia license plates within 30 days of moving to Virginia.